# FAIRFIELD, PENNSYLVANIA Borough of Fairfield Minutes of the Final Meeting of the 2023 Borough Council January 2, 2024

The final meeting of the 2023 Borough Council of Fairfield was held on Tuesday, January 2, 2024, in the Village Hall meeting room, 108 West Main Street, Fairfield, Pennsylvania. Council members in attendance were: Dennis Bucher, Camille Cline, Phyllis Gilbert, Nate McNeill, Pat Pileggi, Patricia Smith, and Sally Thomas. Also in attendance were Mayor Robert Stanley and Secretary/Treasurer Susan Wagle.

At 6:30 PM Council President Patricia Smith called the meeting to order, and Council recited the Pledge of Allegiance.

Resident Mary Walter arrived at 6:31 PM.

**Minutes** - On a motion by Mrs. Gilbert, seconded by Mrs. Cline and carried by roll call vote of 7-0, the minutes of the regular council meeting of December 19, 2023, were accepted as presented.

**Financial Reports** - On a motion by Mrs. Gilbert, seconded by Mrs. Pileggi and carried by roll call vote of 7-0, the final financial reports for 2023 were approved.

**Adjournment** - On a motion by Mrs. Thomas, seconded by Mrs. Cline and carried by unanimous acclamation, the final meeting of the 2023 Borough Council was adjourned at 6:34 PM.

Susan E. Wagle Secretary Patricia Smith Council President

# Swearing In of councilors-elect

Mayor Robert Stanley administered the Oath of Office to newly reelected councilors Phyllis Gilbert and Sarah (Sally) Thomas and to newly elected councilor Dennis Bucher. It was noted that Mrs. Smith, also newly reelected, had been previously sworn in. Each new serving member signed the written Oath of Office and an Affidavit of Residency.

# FAIRFIELD, PENNSYLVANIA Borough of Fairfield Minutes of the Borough Council Biennial Reorganization Meeting of January 2, 2024

The biennial reorganization meeting of the 2024 Borough Council of Fairfield was held following the final meeting of the 2023 Borough Council. Council members in attendance were Dennis Bucher, Camille Cline, Phyllis Gilbert, Nate McNeill, Patricia Smith, and Sally Thomas. Also in attendance were Mayor Robert Stanley and Secretary/Treasurer Susan Wagle. Present from the public was former council member, Pascuale (Pat) Pileggi.

At 6:38 PM Mayor Robert Stanley called the meeting to order. Shortly thereafter Mrs.Walter left the meeting.

# **Elections of Officers**

Mayor Stanley invited nominations for the office of President of Council. On a motion by Mrs. Cline, seconded by Mrs. Thomas and carried by roll call vote of 5-0 with Mrs. Smith abstaining, **Patricia Smith** was elected to the office of **President of Council**.

Mayor Stanley invited nominations for the office of Vice President of Council. On a motion by Mrs. Cline, seconded by Mrs. Thomas and carried by roll call vote of 5-0 with Mrs. Gilbert abstaining, **Phyllis Gilbert** was elected to the office of **Vice President of Council**.

At 6:40 PM Mayor Stanley stepped down and Mrs. Smith presided over the meeting.

Noting Mr. Pileggi's willingness to resume serving on Council and on a motion by Mrs. Thomas, seconded by Mrs. Gilbert and carried by roll call vote of 6-0, Mr. Pileggi was appointed to fill the remaining term of councilor Dean Thomas which was vacated by Mr. Thomas' death. The term ends on December 31, 2025.

Mayor Stanley administered the Oath of Office to newly appointed council member, Pascuale (Pat) Pileggi.

Mrs. Smith invited nominations for the office of President Pro Tem. On a motion by Mrs. Thomas, seconded by Mrs. Gilbert and carried by roll call vote of 6-0 with Mrs. Cline abstaining, **Mrs. Cline** was elected to the office of **President Pro Tem of Council**.

# Appointments

On a motion by Mrs. Thomas, seconded by Mr. Pileggi and carried by roll call vote of 6-0 with Mr. McNeill abstaining, **Mr. McNeill** was appointed as fourth successor to President of Council.

On a motion by Mrs. Gilbert, seconded by Mrs. Cline and carried by roll call vote of 7-0, the following four appointments were made:

Secretary/Treasurer	Susan E. Wagle
Borough Solicitor	<b>Battersby Law</b>
Borough Engineer	Wm F. Hill & Associates
Borough UCC Inspection Agent, Zoning & Code Enforcement Officer	PA Municipal Code Alliance

On a motion by Mrs. Pileggi, seconded by Mrs. Gilbert and carried by roll call vote of 7-0, **Robert Smith** was appointed to serve as Vacancy Board Chairman.

Mrs. Smith noted that a new resolution for appointment of delegates to the Council of Governments is not required unless there is a change in the delegate(s). Council was supportive of Mrs. Smith continuing in her role as delegate to the COG, and no further action was required.

On a motion by Mr. Pileggi, seconded by Mr. McNeill and carried by roll call vote of 7-0, Council passed Resolution 01 of 2024 identifying the order of succession in the case of disaster.

Citing the need to research the requirements and obligations of the Borough auditor, no action was taken in making an appointment. On a motion by Mrs. Gilbert, seconded by Mrs. Cline and carried by roll call vote of 7-0, Council approved the treasurer's bond with Cincinnati Insurance Company in the amount of \$95,000.

On a motion by Mrs. Cline, seconded by Mrs. Gilbert and carried by roll call vote of 7-0, Council made the following appointments:

- **Dennis Bucher** to serve on the Planning Commission as the Council liaison for a two-year term ending December 31, 2025.
- Erin Brown to serve on the Planning Commission for a four-year term ending December 31, 2027.
- **Rick Cordell** to serve as a regular member of the **Zoning Hearing Board** for a new three-year term to end December 31, 2026.
- Sarah (Sally) Thomas to serve as Pippinfest Committee liaison through 12-31-2027.

On a motion by Mrs. Gilbert, seconded by Mr. Bucher carried by roll call vote of 6-0 with Mrs. Smith abstaining, **Patricia T. Smith** was appointed as delegate and **Susan E. Wagle** as alternate delegate, with Hamiltonban Township delegates appointed as further alternate delegates, to both the Adams County TCC and the York Adams Tax Bureau.

On a motion by Mrs. Thomas, seconded by Mr. McNeill and carried by roll call vote of 7-0, Council adopted the fixed mileage rate at 67.0 cents per mile and made the following depository appointments: ACNB Bank and PLGIT for both short and long-term deposits and PLGIT for investment funds.

**Correspondence** – Mrs. Smith shared information on newly elected councilor training scheduled for February 9<sup>th</sup> and 10<sup>th</sup> at the Wyndham Gettysburg. Four council members – Mr. Bucher, Mrs. Gilbert, Mr. McNeill, and Mrs. Smith – will attend at the group rate of \$100 each.

**Anything for the Good of the Borough** – Mrs. Smith asked Council to consider topics for the January newsletter. She recommended that snow removal requirements be included.

**Next Meetings** - The next regular meetings of the Borough Council are scheduled for January 3, 2024, convening at 9:00 AM and January 23, 2024, convening at 6:30 PM.

Adjournment - On a motion by Mrs. Gilbert, seconded by Mr. Pileggi and carried by unanimous acclamation, the meeting was adjourned at 7:35 PM.

Susan E. Wagle Secretary Patricia Smith Council President