Fairfield Borough Council Reorganization Meeting Agenda January 2, 2024, 6:30 PM

- 1. Final Session of the 2023 Borough Council:
- A. Call to Order & Pledge of Allegiance
- B. Approval of the minutes of the regular meeting of December 19, 2023
- C. Acceptance of the final financial reports for 2023
- D. Adjourn
- 2. Mayor Robert Stanley will swear in re-elected Council **members Phyllis Gilbert**, and **Sally Thomas**, and newly-elected Council member, **Dennis Bucher**, each of whom will be serving four-year terms ending December 2027. Note: **Patricia Smith** was also re-elected to a new four-year term and has already been sworn in.

Call to Order of the 2024 Borough Council

- 3. Mayor Robert Stanley Call to order the 2024 Borough Council
- 4. Election of President and Vice President conducted by Mayor Stanley
- 5. Elected President of the Council presides over the balance of the meeting, which shall include:
 - A. Appointment of Pat Pileggi to fill remaining term of Dean Thomas' unexpired term.
 - B. Election of President Pro Tem serves as president when neither the president nor the vice president is present.
 - C. Appointment of the following for two-year terms (proposed appointments indicated in **bold**):

1. Fourth Successor President of Council

2. Secretary/Treasurer Susan E. Wagle

3. Solicitor Battersby Law

4. Engineer Wm. F. Hill & Associates

5. UCC Inspection Agent, Zoning and Code Enforcement Officer PA Municipal Code Alliance

6. Vacancy Board Chairman

- D. Consideration of:
 - a. Resolution 01 of 2024 Appointment of Delegates to the Council of Government
 - b. **Resolution 02 of 2024** Order of Succession for FREMA
 - c. Resolution 03 of 2024 Appointment of auditor
- E. Approval of the Treasurer's bond with Cincinnati Insurance Company for \$95,000.

- F. Reappointments and Appointments of the following:
 - 1. Appointment of **Dennis Bucher** to serve as the **Council liaison to the Planning Commission**, with voting privileges, for a four-year term ending on 12-31-2025.
 - 2. Re-appointment of **Erin Brown** to serve a new 4-year term on the Planning Commission, ending December 31, 2027.
 - 3. Appointment of **Rick Cordell** to serve as a voting member of the **Zoning Hearing Board**, instead of serving as alternate, for a new three-year term ending 12-31-26.
 - 4. Appointment of Sarah (Sally) Thomas as Pippinfest Committee liaison through December 2027.
- G. Appointment of a voting delegate and alternate to:
 - 1. Adams County TCC

```
Delegate – Patricia T. Smith

1st Alternate - Susan Wagle

2nd Alternate - , Hamiltonban Township

3rd Alternate – , Hamiltonban Township

York Adams Tax Bureau

Delegate – Patricia T. Smith

1st Alternate - Susan Wagle

2nd Alternate - , Hamiltonban Township

3rd Alternate – , Hamiltonban Township

3rd Alternate – , Hamiltonban Township
```

H. Other business

- 1. Adoption of the fixed mileage rate (67.0 cents is the optional rate issued by the IRS)
- 2. Appointment of a depository for all the Borough funds

Short Term: Adams County National Bank and/or PLGIT

Long Term: Adams County National Bank and/or PLGIT

Investment Trust: Pennsylvania Local Government Investment Trust-PLGIT

- I. Correspondence
- J. Anything for the Good of the Borough
- K. Next Meetings Wed, January 3, commencing at 9:00 AM Tue, January 23, commencing at 6:30 PM
- L. Adjourn